Code Ochre; 4

TOP SECRET

Operation PsyCoChemManip

Need to know; list alpha

First Interim Report, Dr Davies, Acting-Director “The Complex”

Mon, 27/04/09, 1300h

  •  I am pleased to report that the first two courses have been completed without any negative incidents.
  • Both were of sports-women, 6 tennis in the first and 12 field athletes in the second. Good potential was identified in one of the former and three of the latter. The relevant sponsor agencies have been notified.
  • As predicted, the use of IC 36 significantly improved cognitive and performance scores in some of the participants. Of considerably more meaning will be the exposure of next weeks first course of 12 males on the unemployed axis of this study.
  • The Complex will be on stand-down from close of play Thu 30/04/09 until evening of Sun 03/05/09 for the bank-holiday.

TRANSCRIPT JOB CENTRE INTERVIEW

SUBJECT Z03 AND ADVISER

Wed, 29/04/09, 1134h 

Ah, Johnno, thank-you for gracing me with your presence again today!”

Fuck-off boss and I know I’m late, the bus broke down and I had to walk!”

But you were due in at 9am, first appointment, good preparation for your trip to The Complex next week?”

Yeah, been talking to me ma about that, she don’t want me to go, says you can’t insist and all that…”

Yes, Johnno, we’ve been through this before, twice even. It is voluntary… and if you go you get 2 months benefit free in one go. If not, well, I can be really touchy about you not taking up job offers… know?”

And what, stop me giro?”

Not stop, but make it accidentally smaller, or lost in the post, or…?”

You did that before to make me come and see you!”

So, if I did it then…?”

 (Silence) 

Oh fuck it all, what’ve I got to lose? And its free, travel and all?”

Yes, Johnno, here’s your train tickets and a bit of extra money, OK?”

Personal E-Notebook Diary of Aileen B

House Mother; The Complex

Fri, 08/05/09, 1837h

 “They all said the boys on the unemployed courses would be the worst, they got that bloody right! Lazy, rude, uncouth and gobby! OK not all of them but that Johnno, he deserved the smack in the mouth that Long-legs gave him; whatever his real name was, he never said! Old wandering eyes debriefed all the staff personally after the brawl, he seemed annoyed that it had happened and that somehow we had let it happen. I wasn’t getting in the shower with them, I left that to the two security guards who rushed over. Wonder how they knew there had been trouble? Perhaps one of the other lads phoned for them. Whatever, I’m off till Monday morning now. Shops again I suspect! And then a wannabe Army group, ummh”

About mikeridge

boring old git
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Code Ochre; 4

  1. duncanr says:

    coming along nicely, Dave

    • davehambo says:

      Hello duncan; I suspect that this creative idea is going the way of all my previous fiction contributions… round the U-bend and into the sewer! I’m enjoying it though, which is perhaps all that really matters? Maybe the synopsis post will be more to folks taste?

  2. Tony says:

    I bet the PsyCoChemManip drugs were in the special milkshakes. I knew it would be, I just knew it!!!

  3. Jillsy says:

    what exactly is “giro”?

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Jillsy; another word from the British lingo that hasn’t quite travelled across the “big pond” (aka The Atalntic Ocean)? Giro was the name of a bank especially set up by The British state benefit system back in the 1970’s whereby those in receipt of many different state financial supplements could receive a cheque, rather than cash, take it to the post office and cash it in and get, well, cash!

      This was because most recipients did not have a bank account. The special cheque beacme known as a giro, because that was what it said in the top corner, Giro Bank! Eventually Girobank was floated off as a private facility but remained the State aid payment route of choice because they had to give restricted bank accounts to the benefit claimants.

      Despite this, one’s unemployment benefit, (aka The Dole) continues to be called “me giro” in many parts of Britain. End of history lesson!

  4. Ocean Girl says:

    Do I have to guess anything?

    • davehambo says:

      Only the 6 numbers due to be drawn in the British mid-week lottery tonight; I could use a couple of million pounds!

  5. starlaschat says:

    Ummh…I like reading the dialog out loud. Makes me smile.

    • davehambo says:

      Hello starlaschat; hope you have well trained neighbours, reading this stuff too loud could result in the Loony Bin waggon calling by?

  6. Dan McGinley says:

    Uh-ohhhhhh . . . wannabe Army group coming. This is getting better and better. Great story here, Dave.

Comments are closed.