CODE OCHRE; 5

Official Unit Log, “The Complex”

Entry By Night Watch Operative serial 2426

Thu, 14/05/09,0317h

1.A major altercation was observed in the Sports Hall at approx 0135h.

2.All course members from Special Recruit Assessment were involved in a general free for all; duty male security staff were directed to intervene.

3.The incident was not concluded until 0215h when staff withdrew and a CS gas canister was discharged into the building.

4.After first aid was given, half of the guests were offered and took a small quantity of sleeping medicine; this process authorized by acting-director under Op. Order.

5.The Complex was quiet by last inspection at 0310h, although 4 of those not given sedation remain awake talking with directing staff.

TOP SECRET

Operation PsyCoChemManip

Need to know; list alpha

Fri, 15/05/09, 1045h

Acting-Director “The Complex”, Dr Davies sent the attached for information only; no action is requested or indicated.

“The incident documented in Unit Log in the early hours of yesterday, 14/05/09 has been investigated by the Special Ops personnel on site. Conclusion is that all the young men drank about 10-12 units of alcohol some 2-3 hours before, when they were allowed too much free beer in the guest bar. The bar staff have been suitably advised. My hypothesis is that the alcohol interacted with the energy supplement content to dis-inhibit the youths into violence. As the supplement had already boosted performance scores markedly I do not suggest an alteration at this time.

The Complex was contacted today by a Coroner’s Officer about the tragic accidental death of Subject A1 in a road incident. No association seems likely with her attendance here from 13 April 2009 on our course 1A.”

TRANSCRIPT JOB CENTRE INTERVIEW

SUBJECT Z03 AND ADVISER

Tue 19/05/09,1445h

“Hello Johnno, how are you this morning, sorry afternoon?”

“Shit, awful, tuckered and pissed off! Why?”

“Well, I thought you would have enjoyed spending your benefit bonus I gave you last week, no?”

“Yeah, well, sort of. I’ve been right cheesed-off since last Saturday. Mum wonders if the smack on the head I got at that place has affected me brain?”

(Short laugh recorded)

“Johnno, your brain has taken far more damage than that without any noticeable effect that I’ve ever seen!”

“Maybe. Had the report back from them then?”

“Yes, that’s why I asked you to come in. The Complex found you to have considerable practical skills in hand-eye coordination and…”

“What the fuck is that?”

“Johnno, you seem to be good with your hands in making things. But your lack of literacy is a big problem for you. We didn’t actually know that you, well, couldn’t read and write?”

“Me mum does that stuff for me, OK?”

“Well, no! No wonder you’ve had problems with the jobs we’ve sent you for! Would you go and see our literacy adviser about it.”

(Long silence)

“Suppose so…”

About mikeridge

boring old git
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to CODE OCHRE; 5

  1. I have fantastic hand eye coordination as it relates to sports. But I couldn’t build a birdhouse if you gave me a birdhouse and a nail. And I have exceptional literary skills so why did I never get chosen for a program such as this? Damnit.

    I’m thinking that the death of subject A1 was no accident at all. Someone either desperately needed steak sauce with no regards for quality or some secret government agency will be soon facing some class action, mass tort litigation.

  2. davehambo says:

    Hello Scott; I had not considered the steak source reasoning for Debs death, may just change the whole story line to accomodate that… or then again perhaps not!

  3. Tony says:

    You didn’t waste any time killing someone off Dave. Subject A1, who’da thought it. Must be a British thing. Recent episodes of Heartbeat over here included the death of the doctor woman who’s name I forget, she was PC Rob’s wife then PC Phil was shot dead too. Tragic….

  4. Jillsy says:

    no connection between the accidental death and her stay…..interesting.

  5. Dan McGinley says:

    The plot thickens. I keep flashing back to that old show “The Prisoner” with Patrick McGoohan, who I really liked in “Secret Agent Man”, which had a theme song which was the first diddy Jimmy Hendrix learned to play. Whew – I’m back. I have a lot of faith in Johnno to be a kind of antihero hero . . . kind. Anyway, this is rocking along nicely. Thanks for some great reading, Dave. Can’t wait for the next installment!

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Dan; “The Prisoner” commands a high place in cult TV in Britain, I don’t think my little effort will threaten it much! Johnno sort of comes and goes… thanks for your visits and comments, appreciated.

  6. starlaschat says:

    The class I’m currently taking requires a plot point one and a plot point two, screen play writing. I killed off one of my characters right at the gate, I actually felt bad about it and was wondering if I should have a change of heart. Not sure I’m cut out to write fiction. I am enjoying reading your story. I also have really good hand eye coordination, not really sure why. Maybe the time spent juggling in my youth?

    • davehambo says:

      Hello starlaschat; thanks for your visits and comments. Fiction scribbling is the ONLY way to kill people, without any guilt whatsoever… go for it! Now, what were you juggling with…?

      • starlaschat says:

        Killing without the guilt hmmmm once I figure this out could be fun!

        Juggling everything oranges, apples,eggs, cantelopes, little bean bags, the strangest was pounds of solder (not sure of the spelling it’s what you use for putting together stained glass) very heavy but made for fun juggling. Not much of a juggler anymore. ;+) I guess once a juggler always a juggler.

      • davehambo says:

        Not so many jugglers around here, but saw some excellent ones in Chester last year, team of four street jugglers working with and off each other; probably bank managers in the week!

Comments are closed.