CODE OCHRE; CONCLUDING PART

Part-Transcript of Coroner Court Proceedings

Mr Frank Smith, deceased

Thu, 15/10/09, from 0915h onwards

 

(Coroner to Dr M Ridge) “You were originally instructed to advise the legal team of Frank Smith’s mother but are now acting as sole-joint-expert-witness to all parties, is that correct?”

(Dr M Ridge) “That is correct, Sir. May I outline my findings to you?…

Some 120 young people attended The Complex as part of The Project between early April and mid-July 2009. All were given a specially prepared, not commercial, energy milk shake drink on the Tuesday and Wednesday night… Four of them died… Damien Donald whilst there of HOCM and his death may or may not be secondary to the drink… The Complex had total audiovisual surveillance of all areas, including staff residences… The covert monitoring was at least partly to observe the youths for behavioural changes… in addition to the overt repeated testing of both physical and psychological performance during the day…

Secreted within the special drink was one of two different, both previously unknown chemicals… they were changed around 15 June after the death of Mr Donald… all four deaths before this court occurred after the individuals were given the first substance, known as IC36… Both chemicals have significant positive effects on performance as well as behavioural consequences that seem undesirable.

From their chemical composition, I anticipate that IC36 had a mixture of effects on the brain similar to cannabis and amphetamine, both of which are known to be long-lasting… up to a few weeks on occasions… The brains of humans continue to develop until about the age of 21-22 years… predicting the action of chemicals on under-developed brains is fraught with inaccuracy.

Deborah, the aspiring tennis player was killed attempting to cross a major highway… there is no evidence that she was depressed and attempting suicide, rather totally irrational, out-of-character risk taking…

Johnno Brown, the long-term, unemployed and sadly unrecognised illiterate young man had previous spells of depression but had never attempted suicide before doing so by hanging, not a method known to be associated with “crying for help”…

Frank Smith, the original subject for this Coroner’s Court, became very irritable after his time at The Complex culminating in his attempt at an armed robbery, refusal to disarm and then being shot by the police to protect other members of the public…

In my opinion, the deaths of Debs, Johnno and Frank were secondary to indirect effect of drugs they were given at The Complex… that of Damien may have been…

Note in handwritten diary

Commander, Spec Op Dir

Sat, 31/10/09

Cabinet have directed a private and confidential enquiry into The Complex after being told the Yanks want to “investigate” IC36 as a potential warfare agent… The Project will reopen in some other format, without Code Ochre involvement… Operation PsyCoChemManip is now limited to detainees in Afghanistan… the bitch that caused all the hassle, Aileen Blaze died of septicaemia last week, without any further action by ourselves…

About mikeridge

boring old git
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to CODE OCHRE; CONCLUDING PART

  1. Ocean Girl says:

    I sometimes read the last page of a book to know if it is a story I would read. I am slowly (snail slow) understanding hints of your writing. Maybe if I pay more attention to the next story, it would be easier for me.

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Ocean Girl; thankyou for keeping at it! I also use the read the back page first trick, or open in the middle and see if the flow of wordage suits me approach, all valid as noone can demand that readers stick with them at all costs.

      The style I have used in Code Ochre is very new for me, an amalgam of all sorts of issues I have preceived in the practicalities of online fiction writing. If it don’t work for you, please tell me?

  2. Lisa says:

    I wish it wasn’t over. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride and the unique style of telling the story, almost like an old epistolary novel but brought up to modern times. Please write another story soon. Will you go back to writing on your old blog now?

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Lisa; thankyou for your regular visits and comments and that, to me, new word which I intially read as episiotomy! I have hopes for at least a couple more Dr Mike Ridge adventures in this format, if good readers out there find it works? This blog will transmogrify sometime early next week into “newaitchsee” (see tabs at top of front page) over the “summer holiday season” here in Britain; give me time to write the next epic…

  3. One thing that didn’t make sense to me Dave; sole-joint. To me, sole means ‘only one’ and joint means ‘two.’ Just a heads up. Or maybe I’m retarded again.

    “Both chemicals have significant positive effects on performance as well as behavioural consequences that seem undesirable.” I could have told them that!

    Loved it overall Dave!

    • Lisa says:

      Maybe means both parties only have the one dr. representing all the families of the dead energy drinkers. Just answering cause it’s 3:23 AM and nothing better to do than play interpret the British author.

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Scott; thanks for your regular visits and comments, and Lisa has answered you question”” Is it only a British legal thing? Glad you enjoyed Code Ochre and I have your email bookmarked for unattributed technical advice in the future!

    • Bearman says:

      Scott I figured it would mean there was only one joint left.

      • davehambo says:

        Hello bearman; as soon as I read your comment I thought “why did I not see that in 8 years of doing such work?” Boomboom, clash!

  4. Dan McGinley says:

    The Yanks want to use that drug? It’s bad enough they beat the Red Sox on a regular basis this year, but now they . . . oh. You don’t mean baseball. Ahem. [Time to recover from awful joke]. I love the way it wraps-up, but leaves you with just one more death to contemplate. I would love to see Doctor Ridge make a return in future adventures. This was such a great read; much better than the daily newspaper, but with a lot less murder and corruption. [Time to recover from awful joke]. I’m going to miss this story, but I know it won’t be long before you start again. A great tale that educated as it entertained. Cheers, Dave!

    • davehambo says:

      Hello, again, Dan; as you probably know Yanks is a general term of (near) endearment used by Brits about all USofA residents. I must try to remain aware that in Yankie land it has a very specific meaning(s)! Dr Ridge will ride again, perhaps come the autumn? Please call back for the “film actor in code ochre character wish list”?

  5. starlaschat says:

    A new format to me the online Novella. I think it really is the wave of the future, at least I hope so.

    • davehambo says:

      Hello, again! This version has achieved all I hoped for, and much more in addition. Kindle and its ilk will still have a big role in online fiction, I’m sure. But for timepressed folk looking for a daily 10 minute read over coffee/tea etc, this format has mileage, IMHO and in yours… great! Thanks for support of this epic…

  6. Tony says:

    Well that was a surprise ending I didn’t see coming US military involvement behind the scenes. I was expecting it to pan out into a government attempt to attain maximum athletic performance for Olympic athletes to win those gold medals at the next games

  7. Tony says:

    Forgot to say, I absolutely enjoyed your novella. Fantastic stuff!!!

  8. Tony says:

    My 1st response was actually one of disappointment that it’s finished….

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Tony, thrice; in the original draft for a “proper” 50,000 word fiction piece, the magic milkshake was indeed partly to find undetectable performance enhancing substances to ensure that Britain gets at least a few medal in London 2012. There were other subthemes which I will keep quiet about incase Mike Ridge wants to deal with them in the future! I had to pareback content to fit into the 500 word a day, 5 days a week, 20 days only format that, thanks to Lisa, I can now call “a modern Epistolary novel” I hoped that the wise readers would think sideways and come to their own conclusions, thanks for so doing! Glad you enjoyed Code Ochre and thanks for keeping up with it. HAND!

  9. jillsy says:

    well, that ended somewhat abruptly with a bit of twist as well!

    thanks for the daily reading for the past few weeks!

    • davehambo says:

      Hello Jillsy Girl; sticking to the word limit as promised was a bit of an effort so abruptness ruled! Thanks for all your visits and comments and support, means a lot, cheers for the w/e.

Comments are closed.